New Year, New Address

The final detail has been hammered out, and as of the beginning of 2013, I will have a new address.

A team effort found us the property of which homestead fairy tales are made: A tidy little house with wood heat, situated at the end of a road on four acres, surrounded by another 100+ of remote pastureland and forests.

The nearest neighbor is about a mile away, and the property is about 7 miles from town. From the front porch you can see neither house nor road – just rolling hills and the horizon. Doggies, chickens, goats, bees and gardens are more than welcome – in fact, encouraged – and the landlords are very hands-off folks who live all the way on the other side of the state. Basically, they don’t care what we do to the house, just so long as we take care of it. It’s a dream come true!

I spent the time on the phone, and my friend spent the time on the road to go see it. He was giddy when he called me! So he and his friend went back up there yesterday morning to take pictures, and subsequently bombarded me with everything from pictures of a windmill

to pictures of the garden

to panoramic pictures of the property

to pictures of an ancient barn that is in the process of returning to the earth.

The place looks amazing! It’s got a nice sized kitchen and living room, and the ceiling is vaulted with laid wood. The house I grew up in had a laid wood ceiling. I remember laying on the floor as a kid, just looking up at the planks for what seemed like hours.

I notified my landlords yesterday afternoon, and will be giving my notice at work the week of Thanksgiving. The winter is going to be busy as we start seedlings, build chicken coops, get settled on the land, and wait anxiously for the first signs of spring.

I just can’t even believe how fortunate I am right now. I can’t express how grateful I am to my friend for concocting this plan.

I just can’t believe it…

Categories: Property Hunt | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Address

  1. I am so exited for you! having similar interests as you in these things I can totally appreciate the opportunity that has opened up for you. 🙂

  2. ctkwingchun

    So happy (and slightly jealous) for you!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

