Gastronomy

I’ve been stuck in a quagmire of books about experiences and, even more so lately, cooking. Or more appropriately: eating. Not really cookbooks, per se, but books that include recipes as well as narrative about the author’s life and her relationship with good food. I recently finished “The Feast Nearby: How I lost my job, buried a marriage, and found my way by keeping chickens, foraging, preserving, bartering, and eating locally (all on $40 a week)” by Robin Mather. I had brushed past the title several times since it came out in 2011, but didn’t purchase it for my Kindle until this latest spat of business trips. So many parts of the title really appealed to me, and the story of the author’s life changes resonated deeply.

It’s funny how books inspire. I haven’t had a proper television in well over a decade – nearing 13 years, thank you! – so ideas often come to me by way of the written word.  As my life changes start to inch nearer and nearer, I’m finding that my inspiration has gone wild. I’ve always said that if I can imagine something in my mind’s eye, then it will come to pass. If I just can’t picture it, then it’s probably not meant to be. My future is beginning to present itself to me in Technicolor.

My dear sweet sister has been known to refer to me as a “food snob.” Believe it or not, that’s a title in which I hold much pride. Although, I prefer to simply call it being a “Foodie.” There is nothing snob-tastic about enjoying the very best of gastronomic pleasures. But food has always been of great interest to me – everything from food storage and beautiful pantries filled with Mason jars, to the pungent spice of a garden in full bloom, to the delicacies of Austrian Patisseries and rustic homemade breads. I love everything there is about food!

As my life morphs into a new and unfamiliar form over the next several months, my income will be greatly diminished until I can establish a new way through the economic world. But that certainly doesn’t mean my likes and dislikes will take a back seat to Hamburger Helper and Kool-Aid. Far from it. I’m blessed with a pantry inspired by the good Mormon women of the world (I’m not a Mormon – I just play one in the pantry), with heaps and piles of raw ingredients that will combine themselves into anything my little heart desires. With a few choice purchases of good local milk and eggs, and perhaps a splurge of artichokes or avocado every once in a while, I know that I will be able to continue in my present custom of eating the best our world has to offer.

In fact, I’m looking forward to the challenge.

I’ve begun making lists of the different foods that I love – everything from fresh tortellini to bruschetta to hearty soups to Indian cuisine to pierogi, and a million dishes in between. I’m an appreciative fan of ethnic foods from around the globe. Armed with a few good recipes and an internet connection, I believe I will be able to establish my own personal world-fusion restaurant to satisfy my every gastronomic fancy. Without breaking the bank!

I’m also looking forward to sharing my triumphs and failures with you along the way.

Categories: Recipes | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

