Things to work on…

I try really hard not to be outwardly frustrated at people. But, like most everyone else, there are those days when everything breaks down. I just can’t help it.

How do you deal with situations that get the best of you? I’d love to hear your advice and input.

So far I’ve held it together toward the individual that’s causing my brain to turn inside out.ย  But tomorrow morning I’m going to have to go above this person’s head to try to get an issue resolved. An issue we’ve been trying to get remedied for six and a half months.ย  Yes, seriously.

This has absolutely nothing to do with off grid living, gardening, preps, simple living (although, maybe it does), or anything else even remotely related to this blog. Unfortunately it has everything to do with my day-to-day life at the 9 to 5. Part of me would love to explain the entire situation, but I’m so tired of dealing with it that I just can’t bring myself to tell the tale. All I can say is that, in all reality, it began as the simplest request, and has turned into a virtual Armageddon.

I guess, in a way, this does have to do with the simple living aspect of my life. And it also has much to do with self-realization and recognizing when life has strayed too far from what you wanted to begin with.ย  Each time a trying and difficult situation manifests itself through my job, it actually does help me consider more and more what I want to accomplish in my life.

Frustration is the great equalizer. And it goes a long way to helping a body determine what’s important in life.

Categories: The Journey | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Things to work on…

  1. You asked how I deal with these situations? it all depends. I process life out loud verbally, so one of the things I do is blog when something vexes me…and ask for input (just like you have here) ๐Ÿ™‚ Kindness goes a long way (and by the sound of it, you’ve gone beyond the call of duty on that) I tend to be long suffering except when it comes to situations where I sense I’m being disrespected. I know you said you are tired, but I would love to hear the details of this one @ some point. good luck tomorrow! DM

    • Now that I’m away from the desk, it just seems so dumb and insignificant. We signed a contract about a year ago that the other entity screwed up due to incompetence. Just trying to get one date changed on it, and it’s like pulling teeth out of a rhino. I’m just truly disenchanted with my work these days. I need to find something that fills my soul because this one only depletes it. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ *sigh* Thanks for the input and the support. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I picked up an old copy of Practical Homesteading published by Rodale press this morning. It was published in 1975. I’ve only just read the intro to the book…maybe you’ve already read it..just in case you haven’t..it starts out w/ the author talking about how he and his wife began their journey of Homesteading..he was an executive and she was a teacher..he was @ an interview for a new job.he was climbing the corporate ladder…there he stood w/ this suit and tie around his neck, hating the fact he had to wear a tie… His wife was
        waiting to get grilled by the wife of his potential new boss…he said all he could think about was wishing he could go home and plant peas ๐Ÿ™‚ He smiled and his wife asked him what he was thinking about…he told her..she smiled..long story short, he realized @ that moment he hated his job, and there had to be more to life than the rat race, and materialism…he cancelled the interview, and 6 months later they were looking for a piece of ground w/ an old house. You sound like you’re on the same path….

      • Methinks perhaps I am. I’ll have to see about picking up a copy – that’s not one I’ve read. But Rodale always has terrific stuff. I keep telling myself that I missed my opportunity to become a ranch wife. I suppose there’s still time. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Lanie

    Hang in there lovely lass. This too shall be resolved as all frustrating situations are eventually. I know it is beyond irritating and anxiety causing but it will be resolved. You will also know how to better handle or in this case avoid having and planning events in general in the future. Don’t get me wrong I know you are the master planner and organizer but this too as all of these challenges are is a learning experience. I find it interesting and important too that it also motivates you to think about your goals again for a simpler and more self sustainable life. Could the winds of fate be telling you something you have known all along? It is through the hardest circumstances that we become polished and strong and they drive us to change our lives for the better. I love you girly. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

