Juice feast, day 8 (part 2)

image

Dinner: beet, carrot, apple, lemon, ginger.

image

And this, my friends, is a happy refrigerator.

So I’ve had a few people contact me, on the blog, via Facebook and privately, asking me about what on earth DDS and I are doing. How? Why? And some particulars based around those kinds of questions. So I thought I would take a few minutes and let you know what this is all about.

Who:  My dear sweet sister (DSS) and me. And of course, if anyone cares to jump on board, I encourage you to do so!

What: We’ve embarked upon a 30-day juice feast. What that means is that for 30 days, all we’re consuming is juice. Freshly made juice, that’s consumed the same day it’s made. Aside from the juice, the only thing we’re consuming is water and the occasional cup of herbal tea. There’s one minor caveat to this plan: because of DSS’s delicate system during her recovery, her doctor asked her to eat some yogurt after a round of antibiotics to rebuild the good flora in her system. I certainly can’t begrudge her that. The only thing I ask for right now is a healthy sister!

Where: In our respective homes!  No need for fancy detox retreat centers – there’s no place better than home sweet home. It adds that element of comfort when you need it most: during a major restructuring of your dietary world. And if you’re going to be re-learning how to eat, there’s no better place than your own kitchen!

When: We began a week ago. DSS is on Day 7, and I’m on Day 8. We’ll be at this for another three weeks, so you can look forward to many more pictures of juices for the next 22-23 days.

Why: The seed of this began when my DSS found herself in the hospital, facing the possibility of a couple of major surgeries, because of a perforated colon. I wrote about this a few weeks ago. Her medical emergency prompted both of us to start doing tons of research on health. I sent her a book that I had been reading by a gal named Kris Carr. The name of her book (well, she has a couple, but the one I sent DSS) is Crazy Sexy Diet. It’s not a diet book in the traditional American sense – it’s a diet book in terms of changing your entire culinary diet and getting yourself healthy through a lot of raw foods, veganism, and juicing. DSS and I also watched a movie called Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead. The combination of these two sources prompted me to purchase a juicer (another thing I wrote about lately). After watching the movie, DSS decided that she wanted to undertake a juice fast, since six weeks of work on her health hadn’t gotten her very far. So to offer her as much moral support as I could, I decided to do the fast with her. Overall, I would say the “why” comes down to improving our health. Plain and simple.

How: We both have Breville centrifugal juicers. I highly recommend them because they’re fast and extremely easy to clean. For anyone just starting a juicing lifestyle, I have to say this is the place to start. There are a million juicers on the market, and different styles of juicing. But this one is a no-brainer for the novice – myself included! I also have a manual wheat grass juicer which I use for, obviously, wheat grass. Putting a delicate grass like that through the Breville doesn’t do a whole lot. So this little dandy squashes all the juice out of those precious blades, and can also be used for other herbs and leafy greens.  Throughout the day, DSS and I are drinking three meals of juice. I’m not sure of her exact portions, but I’m drinking three 32-ounce meals. No snacks, just some extra water here and there, and if I’m feeling chilled at night, I’ll add a mug of peppermint tea.

Once the fast is over, I plan to stick to a primarily vegan diet with as much raw food as possible. I’ll be striving for 75-80% raw. And the only animal products I’ll be consuming is some occasional butter and honey. I realize now, after several days of detoxification, how detrimental all the dairy has been to my system. I’m a dairy junkie – cheddar courses through my veins! But the mucus that it forms is draining from my body, mostly through my sinuses, and it’s gross! I’ve also had a hard time with meat since I was a kid. I like meat – I like the way it tastes and all that, but it clearly does NOT like me. I have a violent intolerance to beef and pork; and poultry, if I eat too much, causes severe headaches. I’ve always been of the mind that if a substance does not agree with you, you simply should not eat it. So I’ve stayed away from all red meat and pork since I was about 18 or 19, and really only started eating poultry and fish again a couple years ago. So those will go to the wayside. Eggs I’m neither here nor there on. I don’t care for them all that much. An occasional omelet is okay, but just “okay.” My main use of eggs is in baking, and even then, it’s so infrequent that I don’t imagine I’ll miss it much.

So that’s the nuts and bolts of what’s going on. I appreciate everyone’s support – it feels good to know people are backing our decision! That means the world to me!

Peace!

Categories: Misc Musings | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Juice feast, day 8 (part 2)

  1. mary

    I am inspired by both of you and admire what you are doing to help your DSS. Love the blog and all of your fantastic information.
    Do you just guess the amounts for a particular drink mix – add water to get a good mix? Or are there more specific recipes? Sorry if I’m asking something you’ve covered already. Thanks and Happy Sunday!

    • Thanks so much! I’m delighted to support my sister this way. It’s the very least I can do.

      I don’t really follow recipes – I’m kinda doing this renegade style, throwing things in the juicer until I have the amount I’m looking for. I kind of know what things taste good together, so I make it up as I go along. DSS is doing more of the recipe style. Sometimes I’ll look at some recipes for inspiration, but don’t really follow them exactly. But a general rule is that I use a half a head of celery when I use celery (about 5-6 stalks), I generally use a whole bunch of whatever leafy greens I’m using: spinach, kale, lettuce, etc. Usually one cucumber per juicing. 3-4 pieces of fruit. That’s kind of how I’m rolling right now.

  2. Pingback: Wheat Grass Juicer | Best Juicer Machine Reviews

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

