I haven’t fallen off the face of the earth…

Just been traveling a lot lately.  Since July I’ve been out-of-town five times, and spent an additional weekend hosting a strategic planning session for my nonprofit.  The rest of the time I’ve been trying to catch up… Ugh.  And with one exception, all the traveling has been work related. (9 days, 7 days, 9 days, 4 days, 13 days.) But I have a reprieve until mid-February.  Between now and next September I only have to be out-of-town three times (one of which is personal – to go visit my Dad!).  That makes me feel better already!

When I was much younger, I used to think traveling for work was glamorous.  I now know MUCH better.  I’ve been traveling for work for seven years already…  It’s gotten to the point that when I take vacation, all I want to do is stay home.  Granted, yes, I get to travel to some amazing places, and I’m generally wined and dined the entire time I’m gone, and treated to marvelous hotels…  But believe me – it gets old.  There’s never a hotel bed as comfortable as my own.  There’s never a meal as good as one I make myself from scratch.  And there’s never anything more comforting than snuggling up next to my pup.

And have I mentioned the view out my own window?  There’s rarely a view as good as this one:

Okay - this is obviously NOT today... but it's never a bad view!

So I’m very much relishing being home.  I couldn’t ask for a better gift than an un-scheduled weekend ahead of me.  And in a couple of weeks I get 10 days off – all to my self!  We close the office for the holidays.  My only plan is to go skiing.  As much as I’ll miss my family and friends, I’m not even venturing to Chicago for Christmas this year.  It’s home sweet home for me!  And I swear it will have never felt so good!

For the rest of December I’m taking a personal vow of online silence, so to speak. Not that I’ve been posting much lately, anyway. Although I missed yesterday, my plan is to post only pictures of things that make my heart sing on the blog through the end of the year.  I hope you’ll enjoy the quiet look into my world…

 

Categories: Misc Musings | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

