Long Term Grain Storage

I want to thank 4Nana for commenting on my General Store post, and asking specifically for more information on long term grain storage.  I branched out a little on Ditch the Grid this morning, and prepared a how-to video on grain storage.

Although I briefly mention it in the video, one of the questions 4Nana asked was if I wash my grains prior to storage.  I do not wash my grains. And honestly, I don’t think I would recommend doing that.  There’s too much that can go wrong – like not having all the moisture out of the grain before repackaging it, and ending up with bags of moldy grain.  If you don’t trust the quality or cleanliness of your grains, I would suggest finding another source.  With that said, I present you with the following tutorial on long term grain storage.   Enjoy!

This process will work for most any dry products: grains, legumes, seeds, dry milk, dehydrated fruits and veggies, nuts, etc.  The only item I wouldn’t really suggest doing this with is ground flour.  The reason being that flour doesn’t retain it’s nutrition all that long anyway.  So it’s not a good item for long term storage.  You’re better off storing your whole grains and grinding your flour as needed.  I’ve included some links at the end of the post for where to buy grains and supplies for your long term food storage.

On another note:  I just ran out to give my landlord this month’s rent check, and he mentioned that he’s going to drop a load of aged horse manure in the garden for me today (aka: compost).  Yay!  Of course, it was supposed to be nice today, but it’s raining and snowing again.  *sigh*  I hope Spring shows up one of these days! But I’ll get that spread out, and run to town to get some black dirt to add to the mix.  It’ll need another tilling or two (whenever it stops being awful outside!) before planting.  But at this rate, I’m clearly NOT going to be planting a single thing until June 1st, which is the traditional planting date.  So I’ve got a couple weeks to keep working on the plot to get it in the best condition possible before sewing seed and transplanting starts.

The landlord also mentioned that the neighbor at the end of the road saw two mountain lions in the pasture the other day.  Apparently one killed a deer out there.  So I’ll have to keep a close watch on Bella.  I’ve seen bears out here, but never mountain lions.  Those are not my favorite mountain critters.  They’re scary, and just so unpredictable.  *shudder* 

Here are some links for places to purchase good, clean whole grains and food storage supplies:

Wheat Montana – They carry gamma lids for your buckets, as well as whole grains, beans, specialty grains and cereals.  I can personally vouch for the quality of their grains.  They sell both organic and conventional grains in a variety of quantities.  If you live in Montana, you can order at your local Wheat Montana deli and save the shipping charges.

GrainMaker – This is my manual grain mill.  I love it!  Although, I understand they’ve raised the price of their mills.  But still, I think it’s worth the expense.  There are other companies out there that make both manual and electric grain mills.  I recommend finding one that you like – fresh ground flour is light years ahead of mass produced store-bought flour in terms of nutrition, taste and quality!

USA Emergency Supply – providers of mylar bags, oxygen absorbers, buckets and gamma lids, as well as other supplies for your long term food storage.  They offer bags and oxygen absorbers in a variety of sizes, and also have mylar bags with zip lock tops to help keep your grains fresh after you’ve opened the bag for use.

Categories: Food Storage, Gardening, Preparedness | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Long Term Grain Storage

  1. Tammy

    Great video!!!!

  2. Gail

    Robin,
    What a great video!! I wondered how that all worked even though you have walked through it before. Thank you so much for posting. Look forward to seeing the next post too!!

  3. laura

    Would you recommend the same process for seeds?
    Why don’t you use desiccants?

    • Hi Laura – Thanks for your questions. I do not use desiccants simply because I live in an extremely arid environment as it is. So I don’t feel they’re necessary. However, if you live in a more humid area of the country, then that may be something you might want to consider. Just make sure that the product you choose is safe to be added to food items.

      Also, yes, I would recommend the same process for seeds. In fact, I’ve bought garden seeds that were packaged in mylar bags just like this from Mountain Valley Seed Company: http://www.mvseeds.com. And most “survival seed” companies package their seeds in mylar bags as well.

  4. Pingback: Quick Recipe for your Holiday Weekend « My Journey to Ditch the Grid…

  5. Shari

    Thanks for showing us how you store your grains and encouraging us to be better prepared! What size mylar bags did you use to where 2 could fit in 5 gallon bucket? I too wanted to not use one bigger mylar bag for 5 gallon bucket to have less opened up at once. Would you say putting 3 bags would not be good? Also could I store the 2 mylar bags in a rubbermaid roughneck plastic bin? If not, why is that? Thanks for sharing and all your help!

  6. enjoyed it! Learned something new too. You’re braver than me…I would probably get tongue tied on camera DM

  7. Pingback: I’ll have a side of Toxic with that… « My Journey to Ditch the Grid…

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

