Peanut Butter = Love

Apparently I’m not the only one addicted to these darn cookies…  I created a monster by bringing a plate over to a friend’s house when he made me dinner last week.  But he doesn’t want the recipe – he just wants me to make more freakin’ cookies!!!  In his words: “there’s only one thing better than a homemade cookie, and that’s a homemade cookie made by someone else!”  Can you believe the audacity?  Yeah, I can too.  LOL

I developed a wheat allergy a few months ago, and wrote about finding the recipe a while back.  A new reader asked that I share the magic potion so she can become a peanut butter cookie junkie too.  (Don’t say I didn’t warn you!)

This is for a double batch (approx. 24 good sized cookies) of:

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

  • 1 cup chunky peanut butter
  • 1 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 2 cups packed brown sugar (if it’s soft and fresh, it works best)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp baking soda (not powder!)
  • 1 TBS+ of vanilla extract  (I always add a bit more…)

Optional:

  • 1 cup combined mini chocolate chips and/or butterscotch chips.  (I can’t find mini butterscotch chips, so I just put some regular sized ones on a cutting board and chop them up with a kitchen cleaver… but the bits should be smaller so they mix in well)

Add all the ingredients (except the chips) to a large mixing bowl and set to mixing with beaters.  It does take a while, and you have to keep pushing the mixture through the beaters until it’s all mixed thoroughly in a granular concoction.  Once completely mixed, if you want (and I can’t imagine why you wouldn’t want to) you can add the chips and mix them through by hand.

Take about 2 tablespoons (or a small handful) of the mix and smoosh to together into a patty and place on an ungreased cookie sheet.  If you want to be all fancy, you can try to make the cross hatches with a fork…  But I’m not that fancy.  I keep a little space between cookies because they will definitely spread out.

Once your cookie sheet is full, bake at 350 degrees for 11 minutes.   Your oven may be different – if I let them go 12 minutes, they’re too dark on the bottom.  So it’s a matter of only a minute either way depending on how your oven bakes.  So I would say give them a quick check at 10 minutes and go from there.

The best part is that you can really make these cookies completely from food storage if you wanted.  All you’d need is some powdered whole eggs to sub in for fresh, and you’re good to go!  When I visit the Mission General Store this weekend I’m going to see if they have any available.  I know there’s been some controversy and restriction from Big Brother on selling powdered whole eggs recently.  So I’ll see what I can come up with.  That’s what I get for not adding those to my larder when I had the chance!

Anyway – enjoy the cookies.  They’re quick, easy, pretty much fool-proof, and sooo addicting!  Don’t say I didn’t warn you!  My strategy is to freeze them upon cooling so I don’t eat them all at once!  (yes, I’m a cookie glutton…  They say the first step to recovery is to admit that you have a problem.)  🙂

Categories: Food Storage | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Peanut Butter = Love

  1. Dawn Notto

    You can sub soy flour for eggs if need be….

  2. OMG! I just made a batch of these…two actually, one just all natural PB and the other with mini semi-sweet chocolate chips, and they are A-MAZ-ING! I know…you warned me. But did I listen? Nooooo! So what else can I say, but Thank You! 🙂

    • LOL They are freakin’ good, aren’t they!?!?

      Glad you’re enjoying them. Remember: the freezer is a good tool for rationing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

