75 min. @ 10 lbs.

Today is canning day.  I decided a week or so ago that I needed to clean out the freezer and start using up the stuff that’s in there.  Including the four whole chickens and four containers of chicken stock.  So I’ll bet you know what I’m making.  🙂  Yep, a gigantic stock pot of chicken-veggie soup.  I’m just running the jars through the dishwasher right now to make sure they’re good and clean – and hot.  In the meantime I’m enjoying a cup of the soup to make sure it’s not missing anything before bottling it up and putting it in the canner… for 75 minutes at 10 pounds of pressure. (I think it could use another shake of Herbs de Province.)

Robin’s Chicken Soup:

  • 2 whole chickens, boiled and deboned
  • Water from boiling the chickens
  • 2 additional containers of frozen (homemade) chicken stock
  • 4 potatoes
  • 3 large leeks
  • Frozen peas
  • 1 can chick peas
  • 1 can white beans
  • 4 cloves of garlic – crushed
  • A bunch of herbs de province

I don’t measure anything.  I’m not a measurer.  When baking I measure more precisely, but soups, stews, chili, etc. – no way.  I’m old school, just add it till it tastes good.

I’m also a huge leek lover. I wish our growing season was long enough to grow them here.  I’ve tried twice, and by summer’s end they look more like skinny green onions than full blown leeks.  So I’m stuck with the ones from the grocery store.  But they still taste super yummy… especially in soup.

On another note:  In November I apparently developed an allergy to wheat.  Not so good, taking into consideration that I have about 150 pounds of whole wheat in my food storage.  (Apparently I can use the wheat if it’s been sprouted – but that’s another story.)  So I’ve been on a mission trying to find a substitute since I was quite the carb-whore.  LOVE bread, pasta, cream of wheat – if it’s made with wheat, I love it.  But I don’t love that it’s giving me hives.  That’s no fun.  I have no problem with other grains, for which I’m extremely grateful…  grains are #2 next to wheat.  They give me my carb fix.

In the process of looking for wheat-free wonderfulness I came across a recipe for flourless peanut butter cookies.  OH my heck…  These things are like CRACK!  (do people still do crack?  maybe they’re like meth now… but either way, they rock! totally addicting!)  They’re so good that I have to freeze them upon cooling so I don’t eat them all in one peanut-butter-enduced-slob-session.  I take out two when I get home from work, and those are my desert for the evening.  So after I’m done with the canning madness, my next plan for the evening is to make a double-batch of peanut-butter-crackies… err, I mean… cookies.

Oops – the dishwasher’s done.  Time to get cannin’!

Categories: Food Storage | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “75 min. @ 10 lbs.

  1. You just can’t tease us and leave us….post that PB cookie recipe, girl! LOL
    Just found your blog and I love, love, love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

