Happy New Year! 1.1.11

First and foremost, I’m wishing everyone a healthy and happy 2011.  May all your dreams come true!

After the chaos of contemplating the mouse-infested farm house, I felt I learned a lesson in being content.  Knowing I couldn’t have a garden of my own in my current place, I was content to just “wait” until I was able to buy a place of my own.  Well, well, well…  Another lesson learned:  When you want something, just ask.

I spent the evening with my landlords and my neighbor last night, celebrating the new year with cocktails and a hilarious, never-ending card game.  But before the festivities began, Julie (the wife of the landlord duo) told me they would be delighted to dig up a garden plot for me.  There’s plenty of room on the ranch, and we talked about a few different possible places…  I can’t tell you how my insides were jumping for joy!!! I even promised to share the bounty as a giant Thank You.  🙂  And we weren’t even drinking yet!  So I know it’s for sure!  A spring garden will be in my plans for 2011.  I have perma-smile right now.

Of course, I didn’t ask about chickens…  but let’s not press our luck, eh?

There’s an area out next to the barn – less than 50 feet from my back door – that I think will be my plot:

See the red box? That's my future garden!

I know it’s not customary to get a present for New Years – but this is the best present I could have possibly received.  Take into consideration that this picture was taken this morning – winter sun doesn’t really reach that area very well. But in the summer, it’s a whole different story!  It’s a little Serengeti!  Plus the well spigot is right there (to the right of the propane tank).  So I’m hoping that’s where they’ll let me have it.  Keep your fingers crossed for me!  🙂  They had mentioned one other plot over by my neighbors house – but if it’s gonna be my garden, I’d prefer it be by my house instead.  Of course, they also mentioned a spot by my lilac bushes in front.  That’s a super sunny area too.  But I think I like this one.

This is one of my dreams come true for 2011.  May your dreams be within your grasp this year as well.

Categories: Gardening | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year! 1.1.11

  1. Dan H.

    Yep, asking is half the battle! When we moved into the smaller house with the much smaller totally shaded yard back in Sept. The first disappointment was the lack of quality garden space. We had a 25 X 50ft garden at the old house and were planning to make it larger, but alas life can get in the way.

    BUT, one day pulling into the parking lot at work I noticed something that I had driven past almost everyday for the last 11 1/2 years, the vacant lot behind the shop that the boss purchased 25 years ago to expand, but the the village wouldn’t let him!

    The old light bulb lit up and I had an idea, plant the garden at work. I walked in the office and asked the Boss if I took over the maintaining of the lot, could I put a garden in, he said it’s all yours!! It’s a 1/2 acre in full sun and fenced on three sides. I already have a local friend who also gardens that wants a bigger garden interested in sharing the work/expense to get a fence across the front and help with tilling it!

    All you have to do is ask!

  2. Wonderful news! Your landlords sound great. I bet they would go for chickens, what do you have to loose by asking?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

