A Mish-Mash Monster Bash…

Okay – there’s really no monsters involved… but it was a fun rhyme.  🙂

Actually – let me re-think that…  The monster I’m going to bash is my to-do list for the next few days.

Well, I’m officially on my spring cleaning vacation. Wouldn’t it figure that I was wide awake, out of bed and making coffee at 6:30 this morning?  When I have to go to work, I can barely drag my body out from under the covers by 7:15 – and here I am all bright eyed and bushy tailed at 6:30.  I guess that means I’m ready to tackle the spring cleaning.

I got a few things done last night – cleaned out my linens, cleaned up my dehydrator after drying a bunch of strawberries.  I’ve already got two items given away on Freecycle (one to drop off at the university while I’m in town, the other will be picked up this morning), and I’ve got my list of errands prioritized to run in town today.  Including a lovely hike with one of my girlfriends and our dogs.  She’s due in three and a half weeks, so I’m not sure how much of a hike to expect – but it’s supposed to be in the 60s and sunny today, so any hike is a welcome hike!

I’m just finishing my first cup o’joe and my first task for today is my closet.  Well, we’ll call it clothing and accessories in general.  I’d like to have at least one box of stuff to be able to take to Goodwill while I’m in town today.

I wrote my post the other day about my plans for eliminating “stuff”, and how I expected it to be not only a physical culling, but a mental one as well.  Well, as fate would have it, I came across this post on the Sugar Pie Farmhouse…  There’s so much about that post that I love, not the least of which is her utterly amazing pantry.  I’m drooling and in awe.  It has to be seen to be believed…  But also she wrote about a similar experience of spring cleaning, and incorporating the culling of bad mental habits, taking stock, and refilling the space in your heart and mind with positive inspiration – in the way of scripture, integrity, empathy and good old fashioned kindheartedness.  Of course I’m paraphrasing her post.  I encourage you to click on the button on my side bar to check out her blog, or the link to the post A Fresh Start to see her amazing pantry and get some inspiration for spring cleaning your mind this April.

On the job front, I submitted my resume for the Director’s position, and have received promising emails and phone calls from two guys on our Executive Committee who are working on the selection process.  I’m pretty sure I have an interview the first weekend of May while several of them are in Montana for a conference for another writers group.  So adding to my list of to-dos this week is to start anticipating questions that they may ask (knowing where our organization is going these days) and try to formulate answers that I think are both what they want to hear and are relevant.

And on the “skills I want to learn” list that I mentioned in my last post, I put down “sprouting” – so the other evening I put some raw wheat in a jar, rinsed, covered it with cheese cloth and some plastic wrap – and a couple days later I have sprouts!  Well that was easy!  There not quite sprouted enough to put on a salad or sandwich, but they’re on their way. 🙂

Okay – my cup of coffee is done, and it’s time to get at that wardrobe.

Happy Tax Day – don’t forget to let your elected officials know how YOU want your tax dollars spent…

Categories: Food Storage, Misc Musings, The Journey | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

