I’ve got plans…

And I’m making a list, too.  🙂

I have nearly three weeks of vacation banked at work, so before it gets too crazy (as it always does late April through June), I decided to take a few days off.  While I’d love to say I’ll be lounging on the beach in Hawai’i, the truth of the matter is that I’ll be doing some serious spring cleaning.  Yep – we’re talking aprons, babushka, work jeans and t-shirts.  We’re talking dirt, dust, culling and cleaning.  My plan is to lighten the load!

For a single woman living alone, I seem to have a whoooooollllle lotta “stuff”. I’m not a big fan of “stuff”. I try to make sure that everything I have has a specific purpose… but right now I have “stuff” that hasn’t been used in eons, and I probably no longer even know is there.  So it’s my mission to find it, then get rid of it via Craigslist, Freecycle, Goodwill or some combination thereof.

My expectation is that this will be not only a physical purging of “stuff” but a mental purging as well.  Once the “stuff” is gone, and what’s left is organized, I have even more plans…  I want to finish getting my 72-hour kits finished up for me and the puppers.  That was supposed to be done by April 1st, but I biffed and didn’t get it done.  That’s okay – it’s on the list.  I also want to do some personal strategic planning – making a check list of skills I either want to learn or those I’d like to perfect.  Some equipment I’d like to invest in…  my two biggies are a Country Living Grain Mill and a manual wheat grass juicer.  Those two things alone will set me back $500.  Ouch – but I know they’ll last me a lifetime.  And I’d like to formulate a plan to get out of the system – off the grid – away from the rat race…  As much of a rat race as there is in the northern Rockies – but you know what I mean.  I see so many people who have figured out how to do it without a 9-5 – and I want to figure out how to do it too.  And I will.  So while I’m up to my ears in “stuff” purging, I’ll have plenty of time to be thinking, planning and wondering.

I’ll be off work from this coming Thursday through next Tuesday.  I’ll try to remember to take pictures to post my progress – I’m so ready to start the process that I may do a little bit this evening.

I hope you find sometime to purge the “stuff” from your life that’s weighing you down as well.

Categories: Misc Musings, Skills & Info | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

