Funny feeling in my tummy…

So I’m going to do it…  and it’s leaving me queasy.  I’m going to apply for the Directorship of the organization I work for.  After asking for input from friends, family, my significant other and anyone else that would weigh in, it’s clear that I’d be an imbecile if I didn’t apply for this position.  I can always turn it down, right?  If I do get it, there’s nothing that states that I’ve become a slave and have relegated the rest of my life to this position.  I can use it as a means of personal growth, as a means of increasing my stores and helping to propel myself toward that pastoral life that I crave.

At the same time, it’s scary.  Very scary.  I’m stepping outside of my comfort level to purposely take on more stress in my life.  I’m applying for a position that makes me do at least one thing that I’m terrible at: asking for money (aka: fundraising).  I’m nervous, apprehensive and uneasy about this whole process.  But what’s the worst that could happen?

If I get the job, I’ll be forced to challenge myself.  To grow.  To take on new responsibilities.  If I don’t get the job, I’ll continue on with my current work as membership and conference director.

What’s the best that could happen?  If I get the job, I could make more money, expand my skills and qualifications, gain new-found passion for my career.  If I don’t get the job, I’ll continue on with my current work, and only have about 8 weeks of stress per year.  🙂

So I’m going to suck it up and apply.  It’s a win-win situation, even if it’s scary.

Wish me luck.

Categories: Misc Musings | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Funny feeling in my tummy…

  1. DAwn

    You’re going to be FABULOUS in this position – and they would be crazy not to pick you!

    Love ya!

    • Keepin’ my fingers crossed. Pretty soon it’ll be in God’s hands, and he’ll put me in that position if he thinks it’s right. 🙂

  2. Lanie

    You will be amazing at this job and it may just surprise you and be awesome. You will never know unless you give it a try. You can do it and Im sure do it better then anyone else. Whats the worst that can happen? Nothing is written in stone and you can always change your mind. Im wishing you the very best of luck! Love,Lanie I leave you with this quote because it seems appropriate

    ~When you are afraid to change, think of the beauty of Autumn. ~

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

